Archive for June 2020

The Psychological Barriers to Climate Change Webinar14 Jun, 2020 | Posted by: cnhe

UPCOMING WEBINAR - PLEASE JOIN US

On Wednesday June 17th, the Canadian Association of Nurses for the Environment (CANE) will host Dr. Rhéa Rocque from the Université de Saint-Boniface in a webinar on the psychological barriers to climate change.

**Si vous souhaitez assister à ce webinaire en français à la fin du mois de juin veuillez répondre à javanthaystrus@ustboniface.ca**

Rhéa RocqueWebinar Description:
Although most Canadians are aware of the climate crisis, there are still limited actions being taken to confront climate change. Psychological research informs us on multiple psychological barriers to climate action. These barriers to action, such as psychological distancing, salience of threat and emotional responses to the climate crisis, will be discussed, followed by a reflection on climate and health communication and avenues for action. Implications for healthcare providers will also be discussed.

Guest Lecturer Bio:

Rhéa Rocque obtained her Ph.D. in Psychology from Université Laval in 2019. Her doctoral research was in the field of health and social psychology. She is currently finishing a term position as a Professor in Psychology at Université de Saint-Boniface, in Winnipeg, where she has taught a novel course on the Psychology of Climate Change. She has started a post-doctoral fellowship at the Prairie Climate Center at the University of Winnipeg in spring 2020, where she is conducting research on the health impacts of climate change, with a special focus on mental health and well-being in the face of climate change.

Time:

(Note your time zone) 16:30 Nfld, 16:00 Atlantic, 15:00 Eastern, 14:00 Central DT, 13:00 Mountain or Central ST, 12:00 Pacific.



Forum:

Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/98553032221?pwd=MHNvK04zN2ZDVkNZbHBzR0hoZU5Mdz09

Meeting ID: 985 5303 2221
Password: 867976

One tap mobile
+17789072071,,98553032221#,,1#,867976# Canada
+14388097799,,98553032221#,,1#,867976# Canada

Dial by your location
+1 778 907 2071 Canada
+1 438 809 7799 Canada
+1 587 328 1099 Canada
+1 647 374 4685 Canada
+1 647 558 0588 Canada
+1 929 205 6099 US (New York)
+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
+1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)
+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

Meeting ID: 985 5303 2221
Password: 867976
Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/abXucxWDuW

The Condor and the Eagle14 Jun, 2020 | Posted by: cnhe

Just a final reminder that CANE is proud to bring you an online screening of the award-winning documentary The Condor and the Eagle tomorrow Sunday, June 14th. The film follows four Indigenous leaders embarking on a transcontinental adventure from the Canadian boreal forests to the heart of the Amazon jungle to document the Indigenous struggle to protect the land and water. A lively discussion will follow the film with updates from the front lines of Indigenous struggles across Turtle Island.

null


The online screening is through a sliding scale donation. All funds donated from ticket sales will go towards our organization, which is 100% member funded, as well as the Unist'ot'en Camp, and the film impact campaign and further Indigenous solidarity work.
Join us!

Date: Sunday, June 14, 2020

Time: 2 PM Pacific/ 3 PM Mountain/ 4 PM Central/ 5 PM Eastern/ 6 PM Atlantic

Cost: By donation. Suggested donation is $10-$50. Donate here.

Registration: https://event.webinarjam.com/register/63/k6yx6hz0

**Note: This online screening is available to everyone, not just CANE members!